Xscape to Receive Lady of Soul Honor at 2022 Soul Train Awards

Xscape to Receive Lady of Soul Honor at 2022 Soul Train Awards

They are only the second group to receive the award.

Xscape photographed in Chicago on Nov. 12, 1993.

Xscape photographed in Chicago on Nov. 12, 1993.

Paul Natkin/Getty Images

Xscape is set to receive the Lady of Soul honor at the 2022 Soul Train Awards. The Georgia quartet is just the second group to receive the honor, following SWV in 2017. These two groups met in one of the most viewed Verzuz specials.

Hosted by actor, comedian and writer Deon Cole, the 2022 Soul Train Awards premieres Sunday, Nov. 27 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on BET and BET Her.

The foursome — “Kandi” Burruss-Tucker, Tameka “Tiny” Harris, and sisters Tamika Scott and LaTocha Scott – amassed six top 10 hits on the Billboard Hot 100 in the 1990s, topped by “Just Kickin’ It,” which reached No. 2 in 1993. Their other top 10 jams were “Understanding,” “Who Can I Run To?,” “The Arms of the One Who Loves You,” “My Little Secret” and MC Lyte‘s “Keep On, Keepin’ On,” on which they were featured.

The group had three consecutive platinum albums — Hummin’ Comin’ at ‘Cha, Off the Hook, and Traces of My Lipstick. They also appeared on the soundtracks of The Mask, Big Momma’s House, Hardball, Love Jones, and Soul Food. Their music has been sampled by the likes of 21 Savage, Summer Walker, Anderson .Paak, The Game and Trey Songz.

After launching solo careers, Xscape returned on The Great Xscape Tour in 2017. They also starred in the BRAVO series Xscape Still Kickin’ It and appeared on Mary J. Blige‘s inaugural Strength of a Woman Festival.

“Xscape is one the most prominent R&B supergroups ever,” Connie Orlando, EVP specials music programming & strategy said in a statement. “Their powerful vocal harmonies laid the foundation for ’90s R&B and some of today’s chart-topping hits. Their sound is unmistakably unique and masterful. We look forward to honoring these multi-talented performers on R&B’s largest stage, Soul Train Awards .”

“Given the importance Soul Train is for all of us, it’s so grateful to be honored this year with the ‘Lady of Soul Award’,” the members of Xscape stated in a statement. It’s going to be an incredible night, and we can’t wait to see all of you .”

BET Soul will dedicate a full hour to Xscape music videos on Oct. 28 at 5 p.m. ET.

The other recipients of the Lady of Soul award since it was introduced in 2015, besides SWV and Xscape, have been solo personalities – Jill Scott, Brandy, Faith Evans, Yolanda Adams, Monica and last year’s recipient, Ashanti.

Beyonce and Mary J. Blige lead the 2022 Soul Train Awards nominations with seven nods each. Ari Lennox is next with six nominations. Chris Brown and Lizzo are tied with five nominations each. Burna Boy, Muni Lang, and Steve Lacy have four each. Anderson.Paak and Silk Sonic, PJ Morton, Tems, and Bruno Mars each received three nominations.

Orlando will be responsible for the annual show and executive producer for BET with Jamal Noisette (VP, specials, & music programming). Jesse Collins, CEO and president of Jesse Collins Entertainment will serve as executive producer. Jeannae Rouzan Clay and Dionne Harmon are also part of that team.

Get weekly updates straight to your inbox


Read More