Dua Lipa, Olivia Rodrigo & Lil Nas X Are Top Winners at 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards

Dua Lipa, Olivia Rodrigo & Lil Nas X Are Top Winners at 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards

Dua Lipa‘s “Levitating” won song of the year at the 2022 iHeartRadioMusic Awards, which were presented on Tuesday (March 22) at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. LL Cool J hosted this fast-paced, two-hour-long show that aired live on Fox.

Lipa was not present so the largest category wasn’t shown on-air. Three of the other top winners were present to accept the award: Olivia Rodrigo Female Artist of the Year, Lil Nas Male Artist of the Year and Silk Sonic Best Duo/Group of the Year. It was the first time that any of these categories had been won by any of the three artists.


See the latest videos, charts, and news

See the latest videos, charts, and news

Lil Nas X accepted his award and said that he believed he could leave school and become a successful musician. He also claimed that he was delusional to believe he could record a song about gay lust (“Montero – Call Me By Your Name”)” and have it become a hit. He concluded, “It’s okay to be delusional when your chasing your dreams.”

Avril Lavigne, who landed her first hit on the Billboard Hot 100, “Complicated,” when she was just 17, presented Rodrigo’s award. Rodrigo was likewise 17 when she scored her breakthrough smash, “driver’s license.” Rodrigo also won the award for new pop artist. Rodrigo’s pop-punk hit “good 4 U”, which shows the influence from Lavigne songs like “Sk8er boi,” won two awards. The song brought Rodrigo the award for TikTok bop of the year, while Camila Cabello won best cover song for her cover version of the smash.

“Stay”, by The Kid LAROI, and Justin Bieber was awarded the best collaboration. It beat a second Bieber collaboration, “Peaches,” featuring Daniel Caesar and Giveon.

Luke Combs was named country artist of the Year for the fourth year in a row. Drake won hip-hop artist of the year for the fourth time, and Calibre 50 won Regional Mexican artist of the year for the fourth time, though their runs haven’t been consecutive.

Foo Fighters won rock artist of the Year for the second year. Bad Bunny also won Latin pop/reggaeton musician of the year.

JazmineSullivan was named R&B artist-of-the-year. This is the fourth consecutive year that a female artist has won this award. H.E.R. The last two years, H.E.R. won. Ella Mai won in 2019.

Machine gun Kelly was also awarded alternative rock artist the year. David Guetta was also awarded dance artist of the Year.

The show presented seven new artist awards – Rodrigo in pop, Maneskin in alternative), Mammoth WVH(rock), Lainey Wilkinson (country), Mammoth WVH(rock), Mammoth WVH [rock], Lainey Wilson country), Yung Bleu (hip-hop), Giveon (R&B) and Grupo Firme (Latin).

BTS was awarded two socially-voted awards: best fan army for the fifth year consecutively and best music video for “Butter .”


Harry Styles was awarded tour of the year. This award was not given last year due to the pandemic. In previous years, the award went to Taylor Swift (twice), Coldplay and U2 as road warriors.

Jennifer Lopez became the third recipient of the ICON award, following Bon Jovi (2018) and Elton John (2021). In her acceptance speech she mentioned that “ICON” was an acronym for “I Can Overcome Negativity – Every Single Moment”.
L.L. also performed on the show as did

Lopez. Megan Thee Stallion, Jason Aldean and Maneskin were also featured on the show. Also, L.L. The two stars sang many of each other’s greatest hits while sat facing each other at the pianos. Although it’s a well-known gimmick that feels natural and organic here, it’s not a bad one.

Tom Poleman was the president and chief programming officer of iHeartMedia. John Sykes, president entertainment enterprises, was also an executive producer of the show. Bart Peters was for iHeartMedia.

Here is a complete list:

Song of the year: “Levitating” – Dua Lipa

Female artist of the year: Olivia Rodrigo

Male artist of the year: Lil Nas X

Best duo/group of the year: Silk Sonic

Best collaboration: “Stay” – The Kid LAROI & Justin Bieber

Best new pop artist: Olivia Rodrigo

Alternative artist of the year: Machine Gun Kelly

Best new alternative artist: Maneskin

Alternative song of the year: “Monsters” – All Time Low featuring blackbear

Alternative Album of the Year: Happier Than Ever – Billie Eilish

Rock artist of the year: Foo Fighters

Best new rock artist: Mammoth WVH

Rock Song of the Year: “Waiting on a War” – Foo Fighters

Rock Album of the Year: Medicine at Midnight – Foo Fighters

Country artist of the year: Luke Combs

Best new country artist: Lainey Wilson

Country song of the year: “If I Didn’t Love You” – Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood

Dance artist of the year: David Guetta

Dance Song of the Year: “Do It To It” – ACRAZE featuring Cherish

Hip-Hop artist of the year: Drake

Best new hip-hop artist: Yung Bleu

Hip-Hop Song of the Year: “What You Know Bout Love” – Pop Smoke

Hip-Hop Album of the Year: The Off-Season – J. Cole

R&B Artist of the Year: Jazmine Sullivan

Best new R&B artist: Giveon

R&B Song of the Year: “Leave The Door Open” – Silk Sonic

R&B Album of the Year: An Evening With Silk Sonic, Silk Sonic

Latin Pop/Reggaeton Artist of the Year: Bad Bunny

Best new Latin artist: Grupo Firme

Latin Pop/Reggaeton Song of the Year: “Pepas” – Farruko

Latin Pop/Reggaeton Album of the Year: Karol G

Regional Mexican Artist of the Year: Calibre 50

Regional Mexican Song of the Year: “La Casita” – Banda Sinaloense MS De Sergio Lizarraga

Regional Mexican Album of the Year: Eslabon Armado

Producer of the Year: Finneas

Songwriter of the Year: Omer Fedi

iHeartRadio Trailblazer Award: Megan Thee Stallion

iHeartRadio Chart Ruler Award: “Stay” – The Kid LAROI and Justin Bieber

Best cover song (socially voted category): “good 4 u” (Olivia Rodrigo) – Camila Cabello

Best fan army (socially voted category): #BTSARMY – BTS

Best music video (socially voted category): “Butter” – BTS

TikTok songwriter of the year (socially voted category): Jax

Social Star Award (socially voted category): Bella Poarch

Best Lyrics (socially voted category): “All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)” – Taylor Swift

Favorite Tour Photographer (socially voted category): Love On Tour (Harry Styles) – Anthony PHAM

TikTok Bop of the Year (socially voted category): “good 4 u” – Olivia Rodrigo

Best Comeback Album (socially voted category: 30 – Adele

Read More