Charlie Worsham Among 2022 ACM Studio Recording, Industry Award Winners

Charlie Worsham Among 2022 ACM Studio Recording, Industry Award Winners

Other winners are Dan Huff, Jim Cooley, and Paul Franklin.

Charlie Worsham

Executive Producer and Vice President of the Opry Dan Rogers, Charlie Worsham, ACM CEO Damon Whiteside, and ACM Manager of Awards & Membership Haley Montgomery on the Opry stage after Worsham received his award on Friday evening, May 13, 2022.
(c) Grand Ole Opry, photos by Chris Hollo

The Academy of Country Music revealed the Industry Award and Studio Recording Award winners from the 57th Academy of Country Music Awards during an event at Nashville’s Grand Ole Opry House on Friday (May 13).

Charlie Worsham was surprised with his first ACM Award, for ACM acoustic guitar player of the year. Dierks Bentley sent in a video message honoring Worsham, who then offered a sweet acceptance speech to those at the Opry House. Worsham has contributed to many albums by Eric Church, Kip Moore and Carrie Underwood, among others.



See the latest videos, charts, and news

See the latest videos, charts, and news

” “It couldn’t go to a greater guitar player or a more talented guy,” Bentley stated. “Everyone in this community knows what a great performer you are .”

” This means the world to us and it all started with our parents,” Worsham said to the Opry crowd. “My mom used to drive me an hour to go to banjo lessons… and my father made sure I was exposed to the best music and took us to the best concerts. He gave me the bug, I saw him playing drums in a band.” He also thanked Kristen, his wife, and all the musicians, engineers, and artists he’s worked with. “This is an honor .”

The Ryman Auditorium, which celebrated its 130th anniversary this year, earned its seventh lifetime ACM Award. Pedal steel guitarist Paul Franklin earned his 17th career ACM Award, and his first win for specialty instrument(s) player of the year. Meanwhile, promoter Brian O’Connell and producer Dann Huff each earned their 10th career ACM Awards. In March 2020, music venue Basement East was damaged when tornadoes tore through Nashville. Since then, the venue has been rebuilt and has been awarded its first ACM Award, as ACM club-of-the-year.

YouTube video

Several other winners also received their first ACM Awards. These included the San Antonio Rodeo (fair/rodeo/fair of the year), Chicago’s Windy City Smokeout Festival, Evan Hutchings, audio engineer Jim Cooley and pianist/keyboard player David Dorn.

The Industry Awards, Studio Recording Awards and yet-to-be-announced Special Awards honorees will be feted during the upcoming 15th annual Academy of Country Music Honors on Aug. 24 at the Ryman Auditorium.

See below for a complete list of this year’s industry award and studio recording awards winners:

Industry Awards winners:

  • Casino of the year-theatre: Choctaw Casino & Resort – Durant, OK
  • Casino of the year-arena: Mohegan Sun Arena – Uncasville, CT
  • Festival of the year: Windy City Smokeout Festival – Chicago, IL
  • Fair/rodeo of the year: San Antonio Rodeo – San Antonio, TX
  • Club of the year: Basement East – Nashville, TN
  • Theater of the year: Ryman Auditorium – Nashville, TN
  • Outdoor venue of the year: Red Rocks Amphitheatre – Morrison, CO
  • Arena of the year: Bridgestone Arena – Nashville, TN
  • Don Romeo talent buyer of the year: Todd Boltin – Variety Attractions
  • Promoter of the year: Brian O’Connell – Live Nation

Studio Recording Awards Winners:

  • Bass player of the year: Jimmie Lee Sloas
  • Drummer of the year: Evan Hutchings
  • Acoustic guitar player of the year: Charlie Worsham
  • Electric guitar player of the year: Tom Bukovac
  • Piano/keyboards player of the year: David Dorn
  • Specialty instrument(s) player of the year: Paul Franklin
  • Audio engineer of the year: Jim Cooley
  • Producer of the year: Dann Huff

Get weekly updates straight to your inbox


Read More